Kangaroos recognise best and brightest

Renee Moxey was Tumbarumba’s best and fairest and player’s player in A-Grade. Photos: Wendy Lavis.

The Tumbarumba Australian Football and Netball Club held their senior presentations late last month at the Union Hotel, with the club recognising their best, fairest and most improved football and netball players from the 2021 Upper Murray Football and Netball League season. 

Club President Mont Waters said it was a good evening for the club, although he explained that some members of the Roos’ family couldn’t attend. 

“It was a good night in the outdoor beer garden at the Union but unfortunately, not all our members could attend as we were limited by how many people we could have there,” Waters said.

“Still, it was well attended and good to be able to support Marty at the Union and celebrate the season just gone.”

In football, Fynn Debono took top honours, winning senior’s best and fairest, while in reserves, Brendon Lane was a standout, also winning best and fairest honours. 

In netball, Renee Moxey swept the A-Grade awards, taking out best and fairest and player’s player, earning the praise of her coach, Brigid Rhynehart. 

“Renee won both our best and fairest and our player’s player award,” Rhynehart said. 

“She was by far our most consistent player and thoroughly deserved best and fairest.”

Rhynehart believed the player’s player award would mean more to Moxey, who demonstrated what a true club person should be, both on and off the court in 2021.

Fynn Debono was named Tumbarumba’s best and fairest in Seniors. Photo: Wendy Lavis.

“In a year like 2021, the player’s player award is the one to win in my opinion. It means more as the winner of it has had the largest impact on the team both on and off the court,” Rhynehart said. 

“It means they are respected and valued by the team. Moxey was all these things. She encompassed dedication to our team and club. attending the most training sessions of any player and coaching a junior team.”

In good news for the club, Rhynehart will be staying on as the A-Grade coach in 2022, and readers can pick up next Wednesday’s Tumbarumba Times to hear what the netball coach has in store for next season. 

In club awards, Katie Waters won both the Maxine Harrison Citizenship award and Nick Street club person of the year award, while Marcus Clarke and Glenn Lavis were both awarded life membership by the club.

Club awards

Maxine Harrison Citizenship award: Katie Waters.

Nick Street club person of the year: Katie Waters.

Life Membership: Marcus Clarke and Glenn Lavis.

Football awards


Best and fairest: Fynn Debono.

Best and fairest runner up: Harry Nunn.

Duck Wenke best amateur: James Waters.

Leading goal scorer: Daniel Hitchens.

Izac Cornell most improved: Henry Waters.

Coaches award: Lachlan Vogan.


Best and fairest: Brendon Lane.

Best and fairest runner up: Mitch Deluca.

Most Improved: Sam Claffey.

Coaches award: Jamie Webb.

Netball awards 


Best and fairest: Renee Moxey.

Coaches award: Tamikah Hoffman.

Player’s Player: Renee Moxey.


Best and fairest: Amelia Murray.

Coaches award: Helle Southwell.

Player’s player: Jemma Lorimer.


Best and fairest: Natalie Lowe.

Coaches award: Claire McGrath.

Player’s player: Lizz Power.


Best and fairest: Ava DeLuca.

Coaches Award: Danielle Lee Hines.

Player’s Player: Ava DeLuca.